In the heart of the Indian summer: news of a thumping Première, and several Parisian dates to come! Smile: the new season is on!

A World Premiere : aSH | Aurélien Bory

© Aglaé Bory | aSH – Cie 111 Aurélien Bory


As we had mentioned in our previous newsletter, last June the Montpellier Danse festival programmed the world premiere of aSH, a delicate portrait of Shantala by Aurélien Bory. Here’s what the press tells us:
(…) A petite figure, vivacious and forceful, Shantala Shivalingappa, with a grace of a gazelle, “embodies Shiva, who allows the world to manifest and space to dance,” notes Aurélien Bory. The incarnation of this idea is of an infinite beauty and unfolds to the sound of percussions that roll from soft breath to thundering storm. On a stage bathed in darkness, Shantala appears with her back to us, against the image of an inlaid door that splits and swells. Her dance allows the door to become a wave, blown by a divine breath. The wave slams, swells, and undulates in big slaps as the dancer pursues her invocation, tense, determined, without being overwhelmed by the thunder she arouses and that roars at her heels. The wave lays itself onto the ground.. (…)
Le Figaro.fr |  29 juin 2018 by Ariane Bavelier

Slender body, aerial body language, performed with surgical precision, Shantala Shivalingappa invites with infinite grace to trace the thread of her singular as well as diverse story. Rewritten by the poetic talent of Aurélien Bory, the story of her life, between tradition and contemporary dance, captivates the senses and takes viewers on a voyage
to the edges of reality. Magical !
(…)
Blog Mediapart | 28 juin 2018 by l’oeil d’Olivier

aSH, a new piece for Shantala Shivalingappa, carries in its title a little Pina-style breath, and condenses into three letters (and two languages) its intention, its subject and the scenographic stakes: Shantala, Shiva and ash, symbol of the cycle of life. “Shiva is a God of creation and destruction. Lord of cremation grounds, he smears his body with ash.
Shantala Shivalingappa has built her dance on the figure of this dancing god whose vibration rhythms the manifestation of the world, » writes Aurélien Bory
.(…)
Dansercanalhistorique.fr | 28 juin 2018 by Thomas Hahn

aSH is the meeting of two worlds, that of Aurélien Bory, this being his third “portrait of a dancer », and that of Shantala Shivalingappa, a specialist of the classical, traditional Indian dance Kuchipudi, but also performer for Pina Bausch. Fire and grace, so to speak. aSH opens with the continuous rhythm of Loïc Schild’s percussion and Shantala’s precise gestures. The decor is animated by an effect of tension, actually simple kraft paper, while the dance goes into a trance. Shiva is never far in this evocation, he the God who creates and destroys. All the effects of aSH speak of him, whether it be the thunderclap that shakes the walls or the mountain that swells on stage, once the drapes come off, seeming to swarm with snakes. (…)
sceneweb.fr | 28 juin 2018 by Philippe Noisette

Where to see aSH ?

  • 12th, 13th and 14th December 2018  TJP, GRANDE SCENE, CDN de Strasbourg, 7 rue des balayeurs, Strasbourg (France)
  • 8th and 9th January 2019, Maison de la Culture – L’Auditorium, 34 rue Henri Sellier, Bourges, France
  • All dates

© Aglaé Bory | aSH – Cie 111 Aurélien Bory

Shantala in Paris in 2018-2019

No less than four programs will happen in Paris this coming season: a good opportunity to miss none of them!

Shantala feels «  it is an honor and a joy to hold a special place in the first season of La Scala », the “Phoenix-Theater” which just recently rose from its ashes. In February, La Scala will host aSH, the delicate portrait by Aurélien Bory, and then a double-bill in May, first Akasha, Shantala’s last Kuchipudi recital which will be presented in Paris for the very first time (!), and then Namasya, a contemporary solo and favorite. Three shows at La Scala, this theater: we already love this theater!

BACH jour 1 | Stéphane Riccordel
Théâtre Silvia Monfort, 22 24 novembre 2018 | All information

Cellist Sonia Wieder Atherton and dancer Shantala Shivalingappa each express in their own way their desire to create and experiment new approaches. (…) They meet around a Suite of Bach, epitome of the cello repertoire. Under the gaze of Stéphane Ricordel, they combine and confront their singular expressions of the work, through music and dance..

© BACH – jour 1 | Stéphane Ricordel

aSH | Aurélien Bory Cie 111
Théâtre de la Scala, 16th February to 1st March 2019 | More information

“In Shantala Shivalingappa, there is Shiva, god of dance. According to ancient texts, Shiva has more than a thousand names. He is a god of creation and destruction. Lord of cremation grounds, he smears his body with ash. Shantala Shivalingappa has built her dance on the figure of this dancing god, whose vibration rhythms the manifestation of the
world. » Aurélien Bory.


Akasha | Shantala Shivalingappa

Théâtre de la Scala , 13th, 14th and 15th May 2019 | information soon
Premiered in 2013 in Chateauvallon, Akasha has traveled in France and all over Europe without ever going through Paris! We’ve had to wait for La Scala to rise from its ashes to finally see Kuchipudi in the capital, 9 years after the creation of Swayambhu at the Theatre de la Ville / les Abbesses. A return all the more unmissable as it will take place in an almost mythical place. Long live La Scala!
See the trailer [again]

© Elian Bachini | Akasha - 2013

©  Elian Bachini | Akasha – 2013

Namasya | Shantala Shivalingappa
Théâtre de la Scala, 17th and 18th May 2019
| All information soon

A program composed of four contemporary solos, Namasya is the one, entirely contemporary piece by Shantala, highlighting her most prestigious and unforgettable collaborations: Pina Baucsh, Ushio Amagatsu, and her mother, Savitry Nair. A show to be witnessed as a rippling and suave experience, as an epilogue just after the performances of Akasha..

 

  © Nicolas Boudier | Namasya 2008

Interactive Shantala

The Jacob’s Pillow, a dance center, school, and performance venue located in Becket, Massachusetts, in the Berkshires, is notably known as the oldest summer dance festival in the United States.The ogranisation has developed an exquisite and richly documented interactive site. A constantly evolving collection of dance videos from the Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival, from the 1930s to present day. The festival beautifully celebrates Shantala’s work in its “Women in Dance” section, see it here: Jacob’s Pillow’ Dance Interactive.
© Jacob’s Pillow | capture

A new collaboration : Moving Alternatives – Anne collod

Moving between inspiration and fascination, Shantala is often at the crossroad of cultures, participating in collaborative processes with various choreographers. This time, it is French choreographer Anne Collod  who has called Shantala to join her new project “Moving Alternatives”, built around the work of American Modern Dance pioneers, Ruth St-Denis and Ted Shawn. Stay tuned for more in our next Newsletter!

Shantala on Tour

Twice this year, we will cross the Atlantic Ocean to follow Shantala on tour: first in São Paulo, to witness Pina Bausch’s «Néfes », and then again in Santiago de Chile, where Kuchipudi will make its grand premiere on South American soil with « Swayambhu », a piece from 2010..


From 21st to 24th November 2018
BACH – jour 1 | Le Monfort Théâtre, 106 rue Brancion, Paris, France

From 29th November to 2nd December 2018
NEFES – Pina Bausch | Teatro Alfa, Rua Bento Branco de Andrade Filho, 722, São Paulo, Brazil

From 12th au 14th December 2018
aSH – Aurélien Bory | TJP Grande Scène, CDN de Strasbourg, 7 rue des balayeurs, Strasbourg, France

From 3rd to 4th January 2018
SWAYAMBHU  | MIL Festival, Santiago del Chile

[All dates]

Néfès | Pina Bausch

© Stéphanie Berger | Néfès – Pina Baush

Au cœur de l’été indien : une première remarquée, une saison parisienne ! Souriez, c’est la rentrée!

Une Première mondiale : aSH | Aurélien Bory

© Aglaé Bory | aSH – Cie 111 Aurélien Bory


Nous l’évoquions dans la précédente newsletter, le festival Montpellier Danse programmait en juin dernier la première mondiale de aSH, 
délicat portrait de Shantala par Aurélien BoryLa presse était là et nous en parle :

(…) Petite silhouette vive et forte, Shantala Shivalingappa, avec une grâce de gazelle, «incarne Shiva qui permet au monde de se manifester et à l’espace de danser», note Aurélien Bory. La monstration qui accompagne ce principe est d’une infinie beauté et se déroule sur des percussions qui roulent du souffle à la tempête. Dans la scène baignée de nuit, Shantala apparaît de dos devant l’image d’une porte marquetée qui se fend et se reforme. Sa danse permet que la porte se fasse vague, habitée du souffle des cieux. La vague claque, se gonfle, ondule dans de grands claquements et la danseuse poursuit son invocation, tendue, déterminée sans se laisser impressionner par le tonnerre qu’elle suscite et qui gronde sur ses talons. La vague se couche au sol. (…)  [lire la suite]
Le Figaro.fr |  29 juin 2018 par Ariane Bavelier

Corps fluet, gestuelle aérienne, exécutée avec une précision chirurgicale, Shantala Shivalingappa invite avec une grâce infinie à remonter le fil de son histoire singulière autant que plurielle. Réécrit par les talents de poète d’Aurélien Bory, le récit de cette vie, entre tradition et danse contemporaine, envoûte les sens et entraîne les spectateurs dans une balade aux confins du réel. Magique ! (…)  [lire la suite]

Blog Mediapart | 28 juin 2018 par l’oeil d’Olivier

aSH, pièce pour Shantala Shivalingappa porte en son titre un petit souffle à la Pina et condense en trois lettres (et deux langues) son intention, son sujet et l’enjeu scénographique : Shantala, Shiva et les cendres (ash en anglais), symboles du cycle de la vie. «
Shiva est un dieu  créateur et destructeur. Seigneur des lieux de crémation, il se recouvre le corps de cendres. Shantala Shivalingappa a construit sa danse sur la figure de ce dieu dont la vibration rythme la manifestation du monde », écrit Aurélien Bory.(…)  [lire la suite]
Dansercanalhistorique.fr | 28 juin 2018 par Thomas Hahn

aSH est la rencontre de deux univers, celui d’Aurélien Bory qui signe ici son troisième portrait de danseuse et celui de Shantala Shivalingappa spécialiste du Kuchipudi, un style traditionnel mais également interprète chez Pina Bausch. Le feu et la grâce en quelque sorte. aSH s’ouvre sur le rythme continu des percussions de Loïc Schild et de la gestuelle précise de Shantala. Le décor s’anime par l’effet de tension, du simple papier kraft en vérité, tandis que la danse se met en transe. Shiva n’est jamais loin dans cette évocation, lui le Dieu qui créé et détruit. Tous les effets de aSH le rappellent que ce soit ce coup de tonnerre à faire trembler les murs ou cette montagne au plateau, une fois la tenture décrochée, semblant grouiller de serpents. (…) [lire la suite]
sceneweb.fr | 28 juin 2018 par Philippe Noisette


Où voir aSH ?

  • les 12, 13 et 14 déc-18  TJP, GRANDE SCENE, CDN de Strasbourg, 7 rue des balayeurs, Strasbourg (France)
  • 8 et 9-janv-19, Maison de la Culture – L’Auditorium, 34 rue Henri Sellier, Bourges, France
  • toutes les dates

© Aglaé Bory | aSH – Cie 111 Aurélien Bory

Shantala à Paris en 2018-2019

Pas moins de quatre programmes seront visibles à Paris en cette nouvelle saison, voilà une bonne occasion de n’en manquer aucun ! la compagnie Shantala Shivalingappa a l’honneur et la joie de tenir une belle place dans la première saison de la Scala, le Théâtre-Phoenix qui renaissait de ses cendres en ce si beau mois de septembre : En février, aSH le portrait délicat d’Aurélien Bory, puis au mois de mai nous y retrouverons Akasha et Namasya.  Trois spectacles à la Scala, ce théâtre, on l’aime déjà!

BACH jour 1 | Stéphane Riccordel
Théâtre Silvia Monfort, 22 24 novembre 2018 | toutes les informations

La violoncelliste Sonia Wieder Atherton comme la danseuse Shantala Shivalingappa affirment chacune à leur manière leur désir de créer et expérimenter de nouvelles démarches. (…) Elles se rencontrent autour d’une Suite de Bach, sommet de l’écriture pour violoncelle. Sous le regard de Stéphane Ricordel, elles partagent et confrontent leurs
représentations singulières de l’oeuvre, par la musique et le geste dansé.

© BACH – jour 1 | Stéphane Ricordel

aSH | Aurélien Bory Cie 111
Théâtre de la Scala, 16 février au 1er mars 2019 | toutes les informations

Dans Shantala Shivalingappa, il y a Shiva, dieu de la danse. Shiva possède d’après les textes plus de mille noms. Il est un dieu créateur et destructeur. Seigneur des lieux de crémations, il se recouvre le corps de cendres. Shantala Shivalingappa a construit sa danse sur la figure de ce dieu, dont la vibration, rythme la manifestation du monde. 
Aurélien Bory


Akasha | Shantala Shivalingappa
Théâtre de la Scala , 13, 14 et 15 mai 2019
| informations à venir

Créé en 2013 à Chateauvallon, Akasha a parcouru la France et toute l’Europe sans jamais passer par Paris ! Il aura fallu attendre que La Scala renaisse de ses cendres pour enfin revoir du Kuchipudi dans la capitale, 9 ans après la création de Swayambhu au Théâtre de la Ville / les Abbesses. Un retour d’autant plus inmanquable qu’il se déroulera dans un lieu déjà quasiment mythique. Longue vie à la Scala !
[re]voir le teaser© Elian Bachini | Akasha - 2013
©  Elian Bachini | Akasha – 2013

Namasya | Shantala Shivalingappa
Théâtre de la Scala, 17 et 18 mai 2019
| toutes les informations à venir

Programme composé de quatre soli contemporains, Namasya est LA pièce entièrement contemporaine de Shantala, qui mettait en lumière ses collaborations parmi les plus prestigieuses, en tous cas inoubliables : Pina Baush, Ushio Amagatsu, Savitry Nair. Un spectacle à revoir en douceur, comme un épilogue juste après les représentations d’Akasha.

  © Nicolas Boudier | Namasya 2008

Shantala interactive

Le Jacob’s Pillow, centre de danse, école, espace de performance situé à Becket, Massachusetts, dans les Berkshires, est notamment connu comme le plus ancien festival de danse estivale aux États-Unis. L’ogranisation a developpé un très beau site interactif. Une collection en perpétuelle évolution de vidéos de danse tournées au Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival, des années 1930 à nos jours. Le festival fait la part belle à Shantala dans sa rubrique « Women in Dance », à voir ici : Jacob’s Pillow’ Dance Interactive

© Jacob’s Pillow | capture

Shantala interprète : Moving Alternatives – Anne collod

Entre inspiration et fascination, Shantala se trouve souvent au croisement des cultures, racontée par tel chorégraphe, sublimé par tel autre… Cette fois c’est la chorégraphe Anne Collod qui fait appel à elle pour son projet « Moving Alternatives », autour des pionniers de la danse moderne américaine, Ruth St Denis et Ted Shawn. On vous en dira plus dans notre prochaine Newsletter

Shantala sur les planches

Deux fois cette année, nous traverserons l’océan atlantique pour suivre Shantala en tournéeà
São Paulo, pour y voir et revoir le mythique « Néfès » de Pina Baush, et puis encore à Santiago del Chile, où le kuchipudi fera sa grande première sur le sol Sud-Américain avec « Swayambhu », pièce de 2010.


du 21 au 24 novembre 2018
BACH – jour 1 | Le Monfort Théâtre, 106 rue Brancion, Paris, France

du 29 novembre au 2 décembre 2018
NEFES – Pina Bausch | Teatro Alfa, Rua Bento Branco de Andrade Filho, 722, São Paulo, Brazil

du 12 au 14 décembre 2018
aSH – Aurélien Bory | TJP Grande Scène, CDN de Strasbourg, 7 rue des balayeurs, Strasbourg, France

du 3 au 4 janvier 2018
SWAYAMBHU  | MIL Festival, Santiago del Chile

[toutes les dates]

Néfès - Pina Bausch

© Stéphanie Berger | Néfès – Pina Baush