On Tour in North-America

© Hector Perez | SWAYAMBHU Shantala Shivalingappa

After almost two years, Shantala is finally back in North America for 7 performances. She will as usual be accompanied by her prodigious Indian musicians, and will perform an excerpt from Swayambhu in Toronto’s Fall For Dance North festival, before going to New-York, to perform Akasha at the Joyce Theater.

Shiva Tarangam (Swayambhu – extracts)
4th Oct. 2019 at 7.30pm,  5th Oct. 2019 at 2.00pm | Fall for Dance North, Sony Center for the Performing Arts, Toronto, Canada | information

Akasha
8th and 9th oct. 2019 at 7.30pm | 10th, 11th and 12th Oct. 2019 at 8.00pm | The Joyce Theater, 175 Eighth Av, NewYork | information

© Christopher Duggan | Akasha


Other performances

Moving Alternatives | Anne Collod

As we mentioned before the summer, Shantala is part of Parisian choreographer Anne Collod’s latest piece : Moving Alternatives, carried by 6 performers, portrays works of Ruth St Denis and Ted Shawn which open the door to questions on different figures of Otherness, current gender issues, and various related political and cultural issues.

6th Nov. 2019 at 19h, 7th Nov. 2019 à 8.00pm | Théâtre Bernadette Lafont,1 place de la Calade, Nîmes, France | information

20th, 21st, 22nd and 23rd Nov. 2019 at 8.00pm | Grande Halle de la Villette, Salle Boris Vian, Av J.Jaurès, Paris, France |information

aSH | Aurélien Bory, Cie 111

See trailer

© Aglaë Bory | aSH, Aurélien Bory

” (…) I pictured Shantala Shivalingappa dancing on ash for aSH, the title of which is made up of the initials and last letters of her name. aSH is the final opus in the trilogy of portraits of women, ten years after it began in 2008 with Questcequetudeviens? (What’s Become of You ?), followed by Plexus in 2012. In this trilogy, my starting point is not space, which is my usual subject matter in theater, but a woman, a person who has her own story. This trilogy is about a living being unfolding through dance. With aSH, Shantala Shivalingappa dances beyond herself. In a set designed from ash and vibrations, she incarnates Shiva who propels the world into manifesting and allows space to dance.”

Aurélien Bory – September 2017

13rd, 14th and 15th November 2019 | Festival Roma Europa, Auditorium Parco della Musica – Sala Petrassi, Rome, Italy | information

26th and 27th November at 8.00pm | Théâtre de l’Hexagone, Meylan, France | information

30th November 2019 at 7.00pm | Théâtre Forum Meyrin, Genève, Suisse | information

4th, 5th, 6th, 7th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th December 2019 | Théâtre de la Cité, CDN, Toulouse, France | information


Soon

RASA, a piece by Daniel Proietto for the Royal Ballet of Flandre

Commissioned by Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, artistic director of the Royal Ballet of Flanders, one of the most dynamic European companies, Argentinian choreographer Daniel Proietto is preparing a new ballet « RASA » a contemporary interpretation of La Bayadère. Shantala joins the team as his artistic advisor.
The piece will premiere on January 25th 2020 at the Stadsschouwburg in Antwerp, Belgium.
We’ll tell you more soon, stay tuned!

***

© Laurent Paillier / Bamboo Blues

Tagged on:

Une tournée Nord-Américaine

© Hector Perez | SWAYAMBHU Shantala Shivalingappa

Après plus de deux ans d’absence, Shantala est enfin de retour sur le territoire nord-américain pour une jolie tournée de 7 dates. Elle sera comme à son habitude accompagnée de ses prodidgieux musiciens indiens, et présentera un extrait de Swayambhu à Toronto (Fall for Dance North Festival) avant d’aller investir le Joyce à New-York avec Akasha.

Shiva Tarangam (Swayambhu – extraits)
4 oct. 2019 à 19.30,  5 oct. 2019 à 14.00 | Fall for Dance North Festival, Sony Center for the Performing Arts, Toronto, Canada | information

Akasha
8 et 9 oct. 2019 à 19.30 | 10, 11 et 12 oct. 2019 à 20.00 | The Joyce Theater, 175 Eighth Av, NewYork | information


Les autres spectacles

Moving Alternatives | Anne Collod

Nous vous en parlions avant l’été, Shantala travaille également avec la chorégraphe parisienne Anne Collod : Moving Alternatives s’intéresse aux différentes figures de l’autre qui sont déployées à travers deux soli de Ruth Saint Denis et une pièce de groupe de Ted Shawn.

Un travail de réinterprétation sur les problématiques actuelles du genre, porté par 6 danseurs-performeurs concernés par ces questions d’ordre politique, culturel.

6 nov. 2019 à 19h, 7 nov. 2019 à 20h | Théâtre Bernadette Lafont,1 place de la Calade, Nîmes information

20, 21, 22 et 23 novembre 2019 à 20h | Grande Halle de la Villette, Salle Boris Vian, Av J.Jaurès, Paris information

aSH | Aurélien Bory, Cie 111

Voir le trailer ici

© Aglaë Bory | aSH, Aurélien Bory

 » (…) J’ai imaginé que Shantala Shivalingappa allait danser sur de la cendre pour aSH, dont le titre est composé des initiales et des finales de son nom. aSH est le dernier opus de la trilogie des portraits de femme, dix ans après l’avoir initiée, cette mme année 2008 avec Questcequetudeviens? et poursuivie en 2012 avec Plexus. Dans cette trilogie où je prends comme point de départ, non pas l’espace qui est ma question au théâtre, mais une femme, une personne qui a son histoire. Il s’agit d’un être vivant qui se déploie par la danse. Avec aSH, Shantala Shivalingappa danse au-delà d’elle-mme. Dans un dispositif de cendres et de vibrations, elle incarne Shiva qui permet au monde de se manifester et à l’espace de danser. »

Aurélien Bory – Septembre 2017

13, 14 et 15 novembre 2019 | Festival Roma Europa, Auditorium Parco della Musica – Sala Petrassi, Rome, Italie information

26 et 27 novembre à 20h | Théâtre de l’Hexagone, scène nationale de Meylan information

30 novembre 2019 à 19h | Théâtre Forum Meyrin, Genève, Suisse information

4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 décembre 2019 | Théâtre de la Cité, CDN, Toulouse, France information


Bientôt

RASA, une pièce de Daniel Proietto pour le Ballet Royal de Flandre

A la demande de Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, directeur artistique du Ballet Royal de Flandre, l’une des compagnies européennes les plus dynamiques, le chorégraphe Argentin Daniel Proietto propose une interprétation contemporaine de La Bayadère : pour cette nouvelle création, Rasa, il fait appel à Shantala, qui rejoint ainsi l’équipe en tant que conseillère artistique.

La première est prévue le 25 Janvier 2020 à la Stadsschouwburg à Anvers, en Belgique.
On vous en dit plus bientôt, encore un peu de patience.

***

© Laurent Paillier / Bamboo Blues

Étiqueté avec :