Bhaivaira2-Hampi-shantalaShivalingappa2Bhairava evokes facets of Shiva, the Lord of Dance, as both the destructor of evil and the guardian of time. He is fierce and drives terrible deeds, but he is also the Divine Protector and Supreme Guardian; his intention springs from pure compassion.

In this work, carried by a strong and deeply evocative musical score and by the special energy of the ancient site of Hampi, Shantala embodies the presence and energy of Bhairava. With her technical mastery  and refined expressivity, she alternates between moments of precise symbolic gestures and more abstract body-language surging from the powerful persona of Bhairava, creating a vivid incarnation of the deity.

A 13-minute site-specific dance for camera film featuring dancer and choreographer Shantala Shivalingappa. Directed and produced by Marlene Millar & Philip Szporer (Mouvement Perpétuel, Montréal), Bhairava was filmed on location in Anegundi and Hampi, India, with cinematography by Kes Tagney. 

This production was made possible with the generous support of the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, the Kishkinda Trust (Shama Pawar), Anegundi, and Danse Danse, Montréal.

Bhaivaira2-Hampi-shantalaShivalingappa2Bhairava est un film de danse qui met en scène la danse de Shiva, le Seigneur de la danse, dans son aspect de Destructeur de Mal et Gardien du Temps. Il est terrifiant et incarne la puissance suprême dans ses actes de destruction, mais il est aussi le Protecteur Divin et son intention première vient de sa compassion envers tous les êtres.

Dans cette pièce, portée par une partition musicale riche et puissante et par l’énergie propre au site ancien de Hampi, Shantala utilise sa maîtrise technique et le raffinement de son expressivité pour incarner la présence et l’énergie particulière de Bhairava, alternant entre des gestes symboliques très précis et des moments de danse plus abstraits ou les mouvements surgissent de l’invulnérable présence de Bhairava.

Ce projet est réalisé et produit par Marlene Millar et Philip Szporer (Mouvement Perpétuel, Montréal), Bhairava a été filmé à Anegundi et Hampi (Inde) à travers l’objectif du chef opérateur Kes Tagney.

Cette production a été rendue possible grâce au soutien généreux du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, du The Kishkinda Trust (Shama Pawar), Anegundi, et de Danse Danse, Montréal.

 

Bhairava Teaser from Mouvement Perpétuel on Vimeo.